Promote your events and press releases in Tyldesley for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

Explore Local Information

Contribute +

Weather

Tue

Light Cloud

Minimum Temperature: 8°C (46°F)
Wind Direction: East South Easterly

Wed

Light Cloud

13°C (55°F)
11°C (52°F)

Thu

Light Cloud

15°C (59°F)
11°C (52°F)

History of Tyldesley

History of Tyldesley
  • council: Wigan Council
  • population: 34, 022
  • phone code: 01942
  • postcode area: M29
  • county: Lancashire

Towering historic buildings provide a striking shopping environment where elegant new fascias complement the traditional terraced frontages of Elliott Street in Tyldesley.

Friday is market day, but throughout the week the market square is a popular resting spot for locals and visitors alike. Opposite the market is the old church known as Top Chapel, built in 1789, while the steep terraces branching off the main streets lend the town a distinctive character.

Attractive shop windows enhance this pretty centre, a colourful reminder of the diverse range of goods and services on offer. With over 100 established shops and businesses and plenty of free parking, Tyldesley provides a wide range of choice of goods and services with excellent service guaranteed. Explore Tyldesley and you will discover an abundance of specialist goods and services, from model shops to modems.


The centre also enjoys a vibrant nightlife with people traveling from all over the North West to sample the delights of its fine restaurants and bars. Whilst nestling in Lemon Street, Tyldesley Little Theatre is one of the few remaining authentic back street theatres.

Whether its for shopping, wining and dining or simply passing the time of day in the unique surroundings, Tyldesley is there to be enjoyed.

Tyldesley grew to prominence through cotton and coal. The earliest evidence of history in Tyldesley is the remains of the Roman road running through the area between the camps at Wigan and Manchester. In 1947 two urns containing about 600 Roman bronze coins, minted between AD 259 and AD 273 were found near the route of the ancient road. One of the many ancient halls in the area was Cleworth, from which a strange tale of witchcraft and enchantment has been passed down.


Opposite the market is the old church known as Top Chapel, built in 1789 for the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, a breakaway sect of the church of England.

New residential developments have changed the face of the town's immediate surroundings and encouraged tremendous activity on the high street. Popular favourites are welcoming a host of new and innovative retailers and service providers into this attractive centre

« Back to Local Info